History of The Bear
The earliest reference to a building here is 1528 – this would have been a parlour, hall, buttery, dairy, and kitchen. In 1690, the building became the property of the Hurt family, which then became an alehouse and soon after known as the Olde Brown Bear Inn.
The Bear Inn, as it became known by 1735, lay on the Birmingham-Derby-Chesterfield-Sheffield turnpike road… by 1764 it had become a prominent coaching Inn. The names and dates of all Innkeepers and owners from 1735 – 2011 is listed in the entrance hall of the Bear. Just standing beneath the beams of this fine English country Inn invites history to wash over you – sampling a pint or two of fine English ale helps the process!
The fame of The Bear has spread across various counties and continents in recent years, mainly as a Gastro pub of note, a hotel, carvery & real ale venue.
Real Food, Real Ale, Real People, Real Derbyshire – can be completed with Real History. The Bear can truly boast to be one of Derbyshire’s oldest & most renowned Inn & Hotels.